Posted in food, Health

What do you do when you are on the go?

Working in a job that requires lots of travel can be a struggle.  There are so many convenience restaurants and stores all around. Most stores do not have items that fit in my plan so what do I do?

The simple answer – I have to be prepared. At times I can find better choices at convenience stops but in addition to it being a struggle it can be hard on the wallet. On average even I used to purchase my lunch on the go I would spend from 10-15 dollars. That mean on an average week I used to spend 50-75 dollars on lunch – JUST FOR ME.  That is absurd.  Now I spend between 35-115 dollars a week for items for my entire family depending upon what I have in my stock. 

I now pack on the go snacks in my bags – most prepared at home and some convenience foods from my local grocery store. 

I pack items that are easy to eat in the car if needed such as cubes of grapes and celery. 

Every week I also portion out cottage cheese which is a good source of protein and low calorie. 


Lastly, I cube cheddar and portion it into one ounce portions. 

The amazing thing about making healthy choices is that my children see it and they make similar choices. 

Here’s to another week. 

Author:

I am a mom of 3 littles and one fur baby. I work full time at a job I love. I am currently beginning a ketogenic diet so I can change my lifestyle and relationship with food! I am on a voyage to lose weight so I am able to be more active and present for my family.

Leave a Reply

