Posted in food, Health

Food Prep and Progess

As I said last week prepping is key for me. What’s amazing is that with my food planned out I save so much. I can feed my whole family for less than $80/week! And we eat well! 

This week we will be eating a cheesy cauliflower casserole, vegetable soup, salad, buffalo drizzled cauliflower, a sour cream/salsa dip, strawberries and radishes. 


I’ll be in honest I never enjoyed the idea of devoting time to cook on Sunday’s until I realized the benefits. I spend 2-3 hours and feed my family well for the first half of the week. 

What really helps when you prep like this is having a theme or a few recipes with minimal steps. 

I try to make something that cooks in one pot for at least one dish – this week my soup! 

To keep it low carb ingredients include: chicken stock, cauliflower (surprise!), carriers, broccoli, corn and 1/2 cup of pasta which made for a total of 8 servings. The smell was amazing and best part ALL three of my kiddos ate it. They said it was, “delicious.”

Our other meal for the week is rich and delicious. Once it is done cooking and played I add a drizzle of Franks Red Hot Sauce! All you need is 1/2 cup and you’re filled up! Cauliflower, cheese, ground turkey and bacon – how can you go wrong?  YUM.


I enjoy finding a good recipe maker online where I can input ingredients and get my calorie and carb totals.  

Now let’s talk progress. I have made some progress so I am going to briefly celebrate my victory – I have lost a total of 18lbs since cleaning up my diet. Here’s hoping for another 50! I have come to terms that I did not put weight on overnight so it’ll take time to take off weight and see progress. My ultimate goal for the moment is around 100 pounds but I am hoping to be down 50 by July 4th.  Baby steps. 

Have an awesome week. 

Author:

I am a mom of 3 littles and one fur baby. I work full time at a job I love. I am currently beginning a ketogenic diet so I can change my lifestyle and relationship with food! I am on a voyage to lose weight so I am able to be more active and present for my family.

Leave a Reply

