Posted in Uncategorized

Food, food, blah…..

I’m trying to avoid a food rut. It’s so easy to get in a routine and eat the same meal every day. It takes work to plan things out and with three littles at home often times I do not have the energy or desire to plan out elaborate meals each week. Let take a look at a day in the life:
5:15 Up for the day, shower and get myself ready for work. Pack my children’s lunches and get their clothes ready for school. 

6:15 Wake up the kiddos, get them dressed and packed for school, cook breakfast and get out the door. 

7:15 Out the door to drop 2 off at school and one to at the babysitter. 

8-4 Work (unless I have to pick up the kiddos from school cause hubby is working in which case I leave work at 2:30 and pick them up and work the rest of my day at home).

4:30-7:30 Depending on the day of the week we have dance, archery, Cubscouts and Daisies during this time. Oh and I also try to cook dinner during this time. Thank goodness for food prep and the crockpot.  

7:30-8 Speed baths, books and bed time.   
All of that hinges on it being an ideal day where everything goes smoothly. I am so thankful for Tuesday’s and Friday’s (typically activity free) as they allow me breathing room.  

After that schedule would you want to meal prep? The answer for me is no. Even though my answer is no I know that if I do not plan out lunches on Sunday evening the whole week is thrown off and I struggle to stay on track.  
Sunday evenings I wash and prepare vegetables, fruits, count out snack for the children’s lunches and decide what I will pack for the first half of the week for lunch. This works for me but I know it is not practical for everyone. I always feel good knowing I have the best plan laid out on Sunday night and I am ready for the week. 
Before I began embracing a low carb lifestyle packing lunches was easier because I would just pack anything that I thought tasted delicious (cookies, crackers, chips, a freezer meal, etc.). Now I’m realizing this was probably not beneficial in any way. Here I am on Wednesday needing to pack lunches for the last two days of the week. Do I eat the same thing I have eaten the last three days? That’s what’s easy. BUT I know myself and if I do not change things up I am going to fall off the wagon. I just keep reminding myself that nothing abut a drastic diet adjustment is easy. So, what do I eat for lunch??? 

I have been considering making chili. As I am watching carbohydrates, I think I’d put more meat in my chili then I typically do and would keep it fairly basic. Tomato sauce, beans, meat and chili seasoning. It would run about 12 carbs which means I would need to be mindful with breakfast and dinner but it would add the much needed variety to my life. 

Anyone out there with any awesome lunch ideas that are low carb feel free to share! 
Until tomorrow. Stay positive and let’s all continue on this rocky, glorious path! 

Author:

I am a mom of 3 littles and one fur baby. I work full time at a job I love. I am currently beginning a ketogenic diet so I can change my lifestyle and relationship with food! I am on a voyage to lose weight so I am able to be more active and present for my family.

Leave a Reply

